In 1935 the Delaware Annual Conference rearranged the circuits. Mt. Olive Kenton and Lockwood Chapel merged as a circuit. These two churches functioned very well and had a good rapport as a unit. In 1968, Rev. James Hill Sr. was assigned as pastor of the circuit. With a great vision and insight, Rev. Hill wanted to see the two churches worship together as one.
The two churches had a unique situation. Lockwood Chapel was blessed with the older members, endowed with wisdom and Mt. Olive Kenton was blessed with the younger members, endowed with ambition and strength. With this in mind, Rev. James Hill presented his proposal of combining the two as one. One year later, he finally convinced the two churches to merge.
On March 17, 1969, a joint meeting was held and a unanimous decision was made to unite both congregations as one body. This congregation, now renamed Emmanuel AME Church, worshiped at the Kenton site until 1973.
In 1970, a church building was moved from Greenwood, Delaware to its present location at 1755 Lockwood Chapel Road, in Hartly, Delaware.
It took the church three years to be completed but not without a little struggle along the way, but Rev. Hill was determined to see this project completed and he did so by maintaining his dignity and self-control. He was determined to complete his first project as administrator of the building fund drive. Emmanuel was completed and dedicated in 1973.
Also under his leadership, Rev. Hill also saw the need for a church fellowship hall. The people along with Rev. Hill had a mind to work and the William Jefferson Smith Sr. Community Hall was built.
From 1976-2012, Emmanuel has been graced with many pastors sharing and carrying the dream forward to serve and enhance spiritual growth for the church and the community.
Presently, our pastor, Rev. Francena F. Orr who was appointed to serve Emmanuel in November, 2012 continues to propel the vision of the church.